14 Feb How You Can Be Evicted From a Mobile Home Park
The California Mobilehome Residency Law, often referred to simply as MRL, states very clearly the process by which an owner can evict a renter. Among some of the reasons for a legal eviction are non-payment of rent, illegal activity, or violations of the rental agreement or property lease.
Certain laws govern the process of eviction. The notice of eviction from a mobile home park must be handled according to laws concerning renters’ rights. Knowing your rights is very important. You can be assured that the park owner has an attorney on his or her side. You need one on your side, too. According to the MRL, you have five days after the rent is due to make a payment. After that, a 3 day notice to quit or pay rent must be posted stating that you are subject to termination of tenancy in 60 days.
If you pay the rent within the 3-day grace period, that then voids the 60-day termination. As a renter you can only be late with the rent 3 times in a 12-month period. If it’s late more than three times the park owner has the right to not accept your rent payment. Eviction can then proceed after 60 days. This is the “three strikes” provision of the MRL.
Other situations resulting in legal termination of a rental agreement and/or lease could be for violations of park rules. This can include charges of domestic abuse, drug dealing or use, sexual assault, possession of illegal weapons or any illegal activity with the mobile home park community. Breaking the law, and posing a danger to the community would also be conditions which could result in a tenant termination or legal eviction.
Among your rights as a renter is how the notice is written. 3 day notices shall state the just cause for the eviction. In addition, it should include the amount of rent due, in the case of late payment. It must list the name, address and phone number of the person or legal entity who is attempting to collect the rent. If the notice of eviction is not due to non-payment of rent the notice must state what the violation is that has prompted the notice. The 3 day notice must state the demand that the violation be corrected. If it is not correctable – in a situation involving domestic violence for instance, the 3 day notice can then order the tenant to vacate the property within 3 days.
Evictions are serious legal matters. This is just one reason why it is so important to contact an attorney who specializes in California Mobilehome Residency Law. Contact one of our experienced attorneys today to discuss mobile home renters rights. Don’t try to fight the park owners and management on your own, get the help you deserve. Call today. Time may be limited.